RTAS '96

Second IEEE Real-Time Technology and Applications Symposium

June 10-12, 1996
Boston, MA

Sponsored by
The IEEE Computer Society T.C. on Real-Time Systems
in cooperation with the Office of Naval Research

1. Introduction
2. Technical Program
3. Tutorial Descriptions
4. Conference Organizers
5. Registration Form
6. Hotel Registration Form
7. Local Information


Real-time systems are defined as those systems in which the correctness of the system depends not only on the logical result of computation but also on the time at which the results are produced. This symposium is a major forum for the discussion and evaluation of emerging principles and practices underlying real- time system development. This year, the main events of the symposium include: four tutorials, two panels, six sessions of technical papers, covering topics such as

Technical Program

Monday, June 10

8:00am - 8:30am Registration
8:30am - 8:45am Conference Chairs Welcome

8:45am - 10:25am Paper Session I -- Case Studies and Applications

Session Chair: Doug Locke, Loral Federal Systems

10:25am - 10:50am Break

10:50am - 12:15am Paper Session II -- Databases and Concurrency Control

Session Chair: Tei-Wei Kuo, National Chung Cheng University

12:15noon - 1:45pm Lunch

1:45pm - 3:45pm Tutorial I

3:45pm - 4:15pm Break

4:15pm - 5:45pm Panel I

5:45pm - 6:15pm Break

6:15pm - 7:00pm IEEE TC on Real-Time Systems Business Meeting

7:00pm Reception

Tuesday, June 11

8:30am - 10:30am Paper Session III -- Software Engineering

Session Chair: Farn Wang, Academia Sinica

10:30am - 11:00am Break

11:00am - 12:30noon Paper Session IV -- Communications

Session Chair: Mike Jones, Microsoft Research

12:30noon - 2:00pm Lunch

2:00pm - 4:00pm Tutorial II

4:00pm - 4:30pm Break

4:30pm - 6:00pm Paper Session V -- Real-Time System Development and Analysis Tools

Session Chair: Rebecca Callison, Oregon State University

6:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner

8:00pm - 10:00pm Panel II

Wednesday, June 12

8:30am - 10:00am Paper Session VI -- Formal Methods and Processor Scheduling

Session Chair: Dimiter Avresky, Texas A&M University

10am - 10:30am Break

10:30am - 12:30noon Tutorial III

12:30noon - 2:00pm Lunch

2:00pm - 4:00pm Paper Session IV -- Operating Systems and Distributed Systems

Session Chairs: Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and
Wei Zhao, Texas A&M University

4:00pm Closing Remarks and Adjournment

Tutorial Descriptions

(Note that admission to all tutorials is included in the conference registration fee.)

Tutorial I

On ATM Support For Distributed Real-Time Applications
Dr. Chia Shen, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratory
Click here for a PostScript copy of Dr. Shen's slides.

Tutorial II

Performance Engineering Real-Time Systems
Prof. Jay K. Strosnider, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Carnegie Mellon University

Tutorial III

Real-Time Object-Oriented Modeling (ROOM)
Bran Selic, Vice President of Research & Technology, ObjecTime Limited
Click here for a PostScript copy of Dr. Selic's slides.

Conference Organizers

General Chair:

Wei Zhao, Texas A&M University

Program Chair:

Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Jianer Chen, Texas A&M University

Publicity Chair:

Douglas Niehaus, University of Kansas

Local Arrangements Chair:

Peter Krupp, Mitre Corporation

Ex-Officio: (RTS-TC Chairs)

John Stankovic, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Al Mok, University of Texas at Austin

Program Committee

      Ted Baker           Florida State University
      Alan Burns          University of York, UK
      Rebecca Callison    Oregon State University
      David Garlan        Carnegie Mellon University
      Richard Gerber      University of Maryland
      Connie Heitmeyer    Naval Research Laboratory
      Michelle M. Hugue   Opsimath Research
      Farnam Jahanian     University of Michigan
      Michael B. Jones    Microsoft Research
      Dilip Kandlur       IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
      Arkady Kanevsky     Mitre Corporation
      Tei-Wei Kuo         National Chung Cheng University, ROC
      Jane Liu            University of Illinois
      Doug Locke          Loral Federal Systems
      Sias Mostert        University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
      Douglas Niehaus     University of Kansas
      Raj Rajkumar        Software Engineering Institute/CMU
      Kang G. Shin        University of Michigan
      Jack Stankovic      University of Massachusetts
      Jay Strosnider      Carnegie Mellon University
      Sandra R. Thuel     AT&T Bell Laboratories
      Farn Wang           Academia Sinica, ROC 

Registration Form

Print this form and mail to:

                   Prof. Wei Zhao
                   Dept of Computer Science
                   Texas A&M University
                   College Station, TX 77843-3112
                   Phone: 409 845-5098
                   Fax: 409 847 8578
Name:    __________________________________
Affiliation _______________________________
Address:   ________________________________
Address:   ________________________________
Phone: ____________  Fax:  ________________
Email: ____________________________________
IEEE Membership No:   _____________________
Fees:                     Before May 20       After May 20
IEEE Members                 $335                  $410
Non-Members                  $425                  $510
Full-time Students           $160                  $200
Registration can be done through email. The email address is Conference registration includes all the 
events of the symposium. To receive student rate, students are 
required to have advisor's name and signature at the time of 
Advisor Name/Signature _______________________
Written request for refunds, subject to a processing fee, must be 
made no later than May 20, 1996. Payment can be made by check, 
money order, or credit card. Please make checks or money orders 
payable, in US currency, to RTAS'96.
Credit Card:
[] Visa        [] Mastercard    [] American Express
Credit Card Number: _______________________
Cardholder Name:   ________________________
Credit Card Expiration Date:_______________
Total Charges Authorized:__________________
Signature:  _______________________________

Hotel Registration Form

Mail to:    Holiday Inn
	    1200 Beacon Street
	    Brookline, MA 02146
	    Phone: 617 277-1200
	    Fax:   617 734-6991. 

For the special conference rate, please book before May 20, 1996 
and mention RTAS'96. 
Name:  __________________________________
Address:  _______________________________
Phone: _____________ Fax: _______________
Arrival Date:  __________________________
Departure Date:   _______________________
Accommodation desired:  
      [ ] Single $106   	          [ ] Double $106

Parking, sales and occupancy taxes are extra. Check-in is after 
2:00pm, check-out is before 12:00noon 

One night's deposit is required with each reservation. A valid 
major credit card guarantee is acceptable in lieu of cash deposit.
Please check form of payment.

[] Visa        [] Mastercard    [] American Express
Credit Card Number: ____________________
Cardholder Name:   _____________________
Credit Card Expiration Date:____________
Total Charges Authorized:  _____________
Signature:  ____________________________

Local Information

Directions to the conference site: Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline

About Boston City

Last revised: Sun Apr 21 1996 by jeffay at