Ming C. Lin received her B.S., M.S., Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science respectively from the University of California, Berkeley. She is currently the John R. & Louise S. Parker Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at the University of North Carolina (UNC), Chapel Hill and an honorary Distinguished Professor (Yangtze Scholar) at Tsinghua University in China. She has received several honors and awards, including the NSF Young Faculty Career Award in 1995, Honda Research Initiation Award in 1997, UNC/IBM Junior Faculty Development Award in 1999, UNC Hettleman Award for Scholarly Achievements in 2002, Beverly W. Long Distinguished Term Professor 2007-2010, Carolina Women's Center Faculty Scholar in 2008, Carolina's WOWS Scholar 2009-2011, IEEE VGTC VR Technical Achievement Award 2010, and 9 best paper awards. She is a Fellow of ACM and IEEE. Her research interests include computer graphics, robotics, and human-computer interaction, with focuses on physically-based modeling, sound rendering, haptics, algorithmic robotics, virtual environments, interactive techniques, geometric computing, and distributed interactive simulation. She has (co-)authored more than 250 refereed scientific publications, co-edited/authored four books, including "Applied Computation Geometry" by Springer-Verlag, "High-Fidelity Haptic Rendering" by Morgan-Claypool, "Haptic Rendering: Foundations, Algorithms and Applications" by A.K. Peters, and "Algorithmic Foundations of Robotics" by Springer-Verlag.

She has served as a program committee member for over 150 leading conferences on virtual reality, computer graphics, robotics, haptics and computational geometry. She also has co-chaired over 25 international conferences and workshops. She is a former Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (TVCG), 2011-2014. She has served as an associate editor and guest editor of several journals and magazines, including IEEE TVCG, IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, the Proceedings of IEEE, IEEE Transactions on Haptics, Computer Animation and Virtual Worlds, Computers & Graphics, Computer Aided Design, the International Journal on Computational Geometry and Applications, IEEE Robotics and Automation Society Conference Editorial Board, World Haptics Conference Editorial Board, Frontier in Virtual Reality, the International Journal on Virtual Reality, and ACM Computing Reviews.

She is currently a member of the IEEE Computer Society (CS) Board of Governors, a member of Computing Research Association-Women (CRA-W) Board of Directors, the Chair of the 2015 IEEE CS Transactions Operations Committee and a member of 2015 Executive Committee of IEEE CS Publications Board. She also has served on the Steering/Executive Committees of IEEE Virtual Reality Conference (Chair, 2010-2011) and of ACM SIGGRAPH/Eurographics Symposium on Computer Animation, Executive Committee of IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Visualization and Graphics, Paper Advisory Board of Eurographics 2009 & 2015, Best Paper Award Committee of IEEE Visualization Conference, Advisory Board of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society and Computer Soceity Technical Committee on Haptics, Conference Board of IEEE Haptic Symposium, the Software Technical Advisory Board of AGEIA Inc, NSF Information Technology Research (ITR) Committee of Visitors, and several other technical advisory boards for the government agencies, industry, and the international scientific research community.