My research primarily focuses on Real-Time Systems that utilize one or more accelerators, and the related schedulability and response-time bound challenges. My specific application area is autonomous driving systems.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Papers:

Peer-Reviewed Conference Papers:

  • T. Amert, Z. Tong, S. Voronov, J. Bakita, F.D. Smith, and J. Anderson, “TimeWall: Enabling Time Partitioning for Real-Time Multicore+Accelerator Platforms”, Proceedings of the 42nd IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), pp. 455-468, December 2021. PDF.

  • S. Voronov, S. Tang, T. Amert, and J. Anderson, “AI Meets Real-Time: Addressing Real-World Complexities in Graph Response-Time Analysis”, Proceedings of the 42nd IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), pp. 82-96, December 2021. PDF. Full version with additional appendix: PDF.

  • T. Amert and J. Anderson, “CUPiD^RT: Detecting Improper GPU Usage in Real-Time Applications”, Proceedings of the 24th International Symposium on Real-Time Distributed Computing (ISORC), pp. 86-95, June 2021. PDF. Presentation: YouTube video. Code: available on GitHub.

    • Winner: best paper award.

Other Conference Papers:

  • T. Amert, M. Balszun, M. Geier, F.D. Smith, J. Anderson, and S. Chakraborty, “Timing-Predictable Vision Processing for Autonomous Systems”, Proceedings of the 24th Design, Automation, and Test in Europe Conference (DATE), Feburary 2021. PDF. Presentation: YouTube video.

Peer-Reviewed Workshop Papers:

  • T. Amert, “Challenges in Real-Time GPU Management”, Proceedings of the 13th Junior Researchers Workshop on Real-Time Computing (JRWRTC), pp. 5-8, November 2019. PDF.

  • N. Otterness, M. Yang, T. Amert, J. Anderson, and F.D. Smith, “Inferring the Scheduling Policies of an Embedded CUDA GPU”, Proceedings of 13th Annual Workshop on Operating Systems Platforms for Embedded Real-Time Applications (OSPERT), pp. 47-52, June 2017. PDF.


  • F1/10 Autonomous Racing Competition at CPS-IoTWeek in Montreal, Canada, April 2019. UNC team (alphabetically): Tanya Amert, Charlotte Dorn, Manish Goyal, Abolfazal Karimi, and Nathan Otterness, led by Dr. Parasara Sridhar Duggirala.

    • Winner: 1st place in time trials and head-to-head races.

Other Publications: