Left Align

Hello and welcome to the homepage of the Real-Time Systems group at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Here you can find information on our group, important dates, information about our current projects (including our LITMUSRT system), and photos from conferences.


July 2015

Car Project on TV

Our research project about future cars was shown on TV. WNCN link: UNC explores future of transportation.

April 2015

Dissertation Defense

Bipasa Chattopadhyay successfully defended her dissertation, “Integrating Pragmatic Constraints and Behaviors Into Real-Time Scheduling Theory. ” Congratulations Bipasa!

March 2015

Dissertation Defense

Glenn Elliott successfully defended his dissertation, “Real-Time Scheduling of GPU’s with Applications in Advanced Automotive Systems, ” and has accepted a job at Tesla Motors. Congratulations Glenn!

January 2015


GPUSync: A Framework for Real-Time GPU Management has been released. GPUSync extends the LITMUSRT Linux kernel patch to support a myriad of reconfigurable and adaptive multi-GPU scheduling algorithms.

January 2015

RTAS Program Chair

James Anderson serves as the Program Chair for the 21st IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium.

January 2015

TCRTS Vice Chair

James Anderson has been named the Vice Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Real-Time Systems. Congratulations!

December 2014

Outstanding Technical Achievement and Leadership Award

Sanjoy Baruah received the 2014 IEEE Technical Committee on Real-Time Systems Outstanding Technical Achievement and Leadership Award. Congratulations Sanjoy!

October 2014

Best Presentation

Bipasa Chattopadhyay won the best presentation award at RTNS for presenting the paper “Limited-Preemption Scheduling on Multiprocessors.” (co-authored with Sanjoy Baruah).

August 2014

Outstanding Paper

James Anderson, Jeremy Erickson, Umamaheswari Devi, Ben Casses won an outstanding paper award at RTCSA for their paper “Optimal Semi-Partitioned Scheduling in Soft Real-Time Systems.”

July 2014

Dissertation Defense

Jeremy Erickson successfully defended his dissertation, “Managing Tardiness Bounds and Overload in Soft Real-Time Systems, ” and has accepted a job at Google. Congratulations Jeremy!

December 2013

ACM Fellow

James Anderson has beed named an ACM Fellow. Congratulations Jim!

July 2013

Outstanding Paper

Bryan Ward, Jonathan Herman, Chris Kenna, and Jim Anderson won an outstanding paper award at ECRTS for their paper “Making Shared Caches More Predictable on Multicore Platforms.”

July 2013

Dissertation Defense

Cong Liu successfully defended his dissertation, “Efficient Design, Analysis, and Implementation of Complex Multiprocessor Real-Time Systems,” and has accepted a job as a tenure-track professor at the University of Texas at Dallas. Congratulations Cong!

July 2013

Kenan Distinguished Professor

Jim Anderson has been named a Kenan Distinguished Professor. Congratulations Jim!

April 2013

Dissertation Defense

Haohan Li successfully defended his dissertation, “Scheduling Mixed-Criticality Real-Time Systems,” and has accepted a job at Mathworks. Congratulations Haohan!

February 2013

Distinguished Dissertation Award

Recent graduate Björn Brandenburg received another award for his dissertation, the European Design and Automation Association (EDAA) Outstanding Dissertation Award.

November 2012

Sanjoy Baruah named IEEE Fellow

Sanjoy Baruah has been named an IEEE Fellow. Congratulations Sanjoy!

August 2012

Real-Time Linux Workshop

The 14th Real-Time Linux Workshop, which will be hosted at UNC by the Real-Time Systems Group, is only two and a half months away!

July 2012

Best Paper Award

Jeremy Erickson and James H. Anderson won the best paper award for their paper entitled “Fair Lateness Scheduling: Reducing Maximum Lateness In G-EDF-Like Scheduling” at the 24th Euromicro Conference on Real-Time Systems in Pisa, Italy. Congratulations!

January 2012

Distinguished Dissertation Award

Recent graduate Björn Brandenburg received the Linda Dykstra Distinguished Dissertation Award in Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Engineering for his dissertation.


Older items can be found in the news archive.